Best Boutique Private Bank (Switzerland)

27. October 2021

Report of the jury

In less than a year, Zurich-based boutique bank Kaleido (formerly known as AP Anlage & Privatebank AG) has been completely realigned by CEO Rolf Bauer and COO Gian Nay. The process has gone much further than simply rebranding: since August 2020 the management duo has embraced the shifting commercial landscape, implementing a digitalization process that ensures the demands of future generations will be met. The speed of the realignment has been impressive, achieving in months what can often take years.

With the expertise and support of Ripplewood Holdings, which represents the main shareholders, Bauer and Nay will now embark on a range of long-term transformation plans, developing the bank around their ideas and values.

A bedrock of experience

Kaleido’s clients can rely on 25 years of expertise, combined with an innovative approach to private banking. As a new part of the private banking hub InCore Bank/SOBACO, Kaleido works with the state-of-the-art banking software Finnova, which also facilitates the management of new assets, such as cryptocurrencies: “We know that new investment opportunities are a highly important topic for the younger generations in particular. This motivates us to create holistic strategies and customized solutions that are tailored to the needs of individuals, as well as families and institutions,” says Gian Nay.

According to Rolf Bauer, the name Kaleido is inspired by a kaleidoscope: “Just like a kaleidoscope, we combine different elements to create a harmonious overall picture. For each individual client perspective, we design specific compositions of banking know-how, technology and network expertise.”

“We focus at all times is on ensuring personal, and above all, long-term relationships with our clients, with the aim of developing partnerships based on respect and trust. Our team is able to provide clients with access to a worldwide network of experts, which also creates space for exchange, new business relationships and collaboration,” adds Bauer.

From this perspective, a boutique bank goes far beyond the standard offering of a private bank, and for Bauer and Nay, one thing is clear – Kaleido is more than a bank.

Beste Boutique-Privatbank (Schweiz)

27. Oktober 2021

Bericht der Jury

In weniger als einem Jahr wurde die Zürcher Boutique-Bank Kaleido (ehemals AP Anlage & Privatebank AG) von CEO Rolf Bauer und COO Gian Nay komplett neu ausgerichtet. Der Prozess geht weit über ein einfaches Rebranding hinaus: Seit August 2020 stellt sich das Führungsduo dem Wandel der Geschäftslandschaft und setzt einen Digitalisierungsprozess um, der sicherstellt, dass die Anforderungen der zukünftigen Generationen erfüllt werden. Die Geschwindigkeit der Neuausrichtung ist beeindruckend: Was oft Jahre dauert, wurde in wenigen Monaten erreicht.

Mit dem Fachwissen und der Unterstützung der Ripplewood Holdings, die die Hauptaktionäre vertritt, werden Bauer und Nay nun eine Reihe von langfristigen Umgestaltungsplänen in Angriff nehmen und die Bank nach ihren Vorstellungen und Werten weiterentwickeln.

Ein Fundament aus Erfahrung

Die Kunden von Kaleido können sich auf 25 Jahre Erfahrung in Verbindung mit einem innovativen Ansatz im Private Banking verlassen. Als neuer Teil des Private-Banking-Hubs InCore Bank/SOBACO arbeitet Kaleido mit der hochmodernen Bankensoftware Finnova, die auch die Verwaltung neuer Vermögenswerte wie Kryptowährungen ermöglicht: "Wir wissen, dass neue Anlagemöglichkeiten gerade für die jüngeren Generationen ein sehr wichtiges Thema sind. Das motiviert uns, ganzheitliche Strategien und massgeschneiderte Lösungen zu schaffen, die auf die Bedürfnisse von Einzelpersonen, aber auch von Familien und Institutionen zugeschnitten sind", sagt Gian Nay.

Der Name Kaleido ist laut Rolf Bauer von einem Kaleidoskop inspiriert: "Wie ein Kaleidoskop kombinieren wir verschiedene Elemente zu einem harmonischen Gesamtbild. Für jede individuelle Kundenperspektive schaffen wir spezifische Kompositionen aus Bank-Know-how, Technologie und Netzwerkkompetenz."

"Im Mittelpunkt steht für uns immer die persönliche und vor allem langfristige Beziehung zu unseren Kunden, mit dem Ziel, eine auf Respekt und Vertrauen basierende Partnerschaft aufzubauen. Unser Team ist in der Lage, den Kunden Zugang zu einem weltweiten Netzwerk von Experten zu verschaffen, was auch Raum für Austausch, neue Geschäftsbeziehungen und Zusammenarbeit schafft", fügt Bauer hinzu.

So gesehen geht eine Boutique-Bank weit über das Standardangebot einer Privatbank hinaus, und für Bauer und Nay ist eines klar: Kaleido ist mehr als eine Bank.